Fiddler on the Roof

Each year for the past 25 years, a large company of amateur but talented performers presents a musical for four performances over four days in a converted hockey rink. It’s a sell out every year. Last year we saw The Music Man: this year it was Fiddler on the Roof, a very gutsy choice given that the Stratford Festival is also doing Fiddler this year.

I have to confess that I have never seen Fiddler before, although I did know many of the songs. I also have to say that I loved the show. The cast was full of talented singers that carried the show. The acting was not as strong, and the dancing was fun to watch, but definitely an effort for the dancers. But it is amazing what a dedicated group of amateurs can do to create a production that is magical. For many people in the audience this may be their first experience of live theatre, but it definitely left them hungry for more. And given that Stratford is just down the road, they can easily get a full meal. 

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Fiddler on the Roof

  1. keithhpotter says:

    A bit static, but the singing was excellent. A better show than I expected and it left me much more interested in seeing the Festival production than I had been.

Leave a comment