Pygmalion

This is definitely one of Shaw’s better plays and this modern version proves that he does still have something to say to a modern audience.

I loved the staging, the costumes and the use of video. The cast was brilliant, from Patrick McManus as Henry Higgins through Harveen Sandhu as Eliza Doolittle, Jeff Meadows as Pickering and Donna Belleville as Mrs Higgins to Peter Krantz as Alfred Doolittle and Mary Haney as Mr Pearce.

Peter Hinton demonstrates again that he can take very familiar material and make it seem new and original.

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pygmalion

  1. keithhpotter says:

    Really an excellent production. Despite the odd anachronism, the modernization worked well.
    Although there were some shaky accents inthe first scene, they settled down (or I got used to them) and the cast worked well. I knew Sandhi would be appropriately elegant, in the later scenes and she scruffed-up appropriately for the beginning. McManus is aways someone I underrate, each time I see him I am forced to issue a mental apology. Krantz was a (pleasant) surprise. I have him typecast in my mind and I could not imagine him doing Alfred well – another apology is in order! The rest of the cast did agrand job too.
    Oh, and beautiful sets – I must check who did them.

Leave a Reply

