Hamlet

Loved it! I am a big fan of Jonathan Goad, so I was predisposed to be positive. But I loved the energy and the humour in this production. Goad was charming even in his madness, but always believable as a young man in distress.

The “Get thee to a nunnery scene” was the best I have ever seen. The two actors were angry, unhappy and in love all at the same time. The movement as they came together, thrust apart and came back together was just superb. Adrienne Gould was at her best from this point on.

Tom Rooney was the best Polonius I have seen. Funny and sad all at the same time. Loyal to his King, concerned for his children, just like fathers everywhere, and caught in a trap he did not foresee.

The only jarring note for me came at the end, when Horatio gave the speech about his Sweet Prince. I had not seen Hamlet as a noble prince, but rather as a man wrestling with his demons so it seemed odd other him praised as a noble prince.

Geraint Wynn Davies was a very believable Claudius, although the costumes she wore made it harder for Seana McKenna to portray the passionate Queen. In fact, it took a while until I finally recognized her voice, before I realized who was playing the Queen.

One of the parts of this play that I generally do not like is the section with the Players. In this production, things worked extremely well. Juan Chioran was superb, and the action moved quickly without seeming rushed or even edited.

Overall, I loved this production and hope to see it again later in the season.

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hamlet

  1. keithhpotter says:

    I do not know exactly why I cannot be as enthusiastic as Cathy about the production, perhaps because I had to wear black tie.

    I tend to be a fan of Cimolino productions, Antoni always manages to see beyond the words, while being totally respectful of them, resulting in lucid productions that get the best out of the actors.

    And in most respects this is true for this Hamlet. The cast seemed to be their characters, particularly Rooney’s Polonius – human and funny, without being an idiot (he is the King’s advisor, after all) – and Gould’s Ophelia, which has always seemed a difficult and thankless role.

    I think, (and Cathy will hate this), my problem is Jonathan Goad. He can be great, but this performance did not seem one of those times for me. He seemed a bit off hand; sometimes Hamlet seemed very close to his character from The Three Musketeers.

    One other comment. Przybylski’s set was generally excellent, simple and flexible. My only problem was that, as the columns were high gloss, sometimes the reflections of the next scene setting up distracted from the scene playing. But then, I am easily distracted by shiny things.

Leave a Reply

