Alice Through the Looking Glass

“I don’t like this and I don’t want to stay” were the first words out of Aiden’s mouth after only five minutes. Aiden is 7 and a half and has been to the theatre many times. He is usually a good guide – if he does not like it chances are we won’t either.

And that was the case again this year. We made him sit through the first act and offered to let him go hame at the intermission. By then he had decided to stay, since “Alice had already reached spot 6 and only a a few more to go.” But Keith and I were vying to be the one who got to go home with him.

I remembered enjoying this play when it was done a number of years ago and we saw it with Aiden’s father and uncle. But I found this production cluttered and confusing. To me it was telling that the only two times when all the kids in the audience were really paying attention were when Tom McCamus read the Jabberwocky poem and when Brian Tree was on stage as Humpty Dumpty. And I think they were paying attention because they could focus on one character and follow what was happening. And of course it helped that both actors are charismatic.

There were so many great actors in the show, and all I could think was what a waste of great talent. And I have to say I really did not like Trish LIndstrom’s Alice. She flapped around like a spastic with a horrible phoney accent.

This production will not make me a fan of Jillian Keiley.

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Stratford 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alice Through the Looking Glass

  1. keithhpotter says:

    We saw this some years ago and it was better – cleaner, simpler. A different adaptation or just a different director.
    I am afraid we are turning Aiden off theatre.

Leave a Reply

