Crazy For You

This is the most fun you are likely to have all year. I am always partial to a show with tap dancing, but this show is fantastic. The dancing, the singing, the jokes, the costumes – all great. I loved every minute of it! 

Earlier in the day, I had the pleasure of hearing Donna Feore, who choreographed and directed, talk about the challenges of doing both and the fantastic opportunities presented by the Festival stage. She said,”you will never seen a show like this one anywhere else” and I have to agree. 

A newcomer to Stratford – Josh Franklin – was a charming ane enthusiastic Bobby Child. Great dancer , singer and actor. He was matched by Natalie Daradich as Polly Baker, also making her Stratford debut. But you can’t fogey the rest of the cast – Tom Rooney as Bela Zangler, Lally Cadeau as Bobby’s mother, Robin Hutton as Irene Roth and the trio of coboy crooners- Marcus Nance, Steve Ross and Stephen Patterson. I may never forget the French version of I’m bid in’ my time! 

I cannot talk about this show without raving about the dancers! I’ve always had a fantasy about being in a chorus line and this is the one I want to be in. Unfortunately age and lack of talent will ensure that I do not achieve my goal, but i remain amazed by those who can dance like the people in this show. Wow and wow again! I definitely want to go again. 

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crazy For You

  1. keithhpotter says:

    Well, that was fun.
    I am not a musical devotee, but this has great songs, spectacular dancing and funny cowboys, it is hard to ask for more.
    Oh, also, the leading man was brimming with charisma. I didn’t think the Polly Baker matched him, but she was competent.

Leave a Reply

