Forty Second Street

I love tap dancing and fabulous costumes, so how could I not like this show? and I did like it, but I still had a feeling that even a great production could not disguise the fact that it seemed dated and silly. The friends who came with me were enthusiastic and loved every minute. but while I enjoyed it, I thought it was just not the right thing for Stratford. My friends were not hampered by this concern none had ever been to Stratford before and were not likely to return. They had no expectations and were perhaps even wondering how such a show could happen in this small town. Those of us who have been Festival regulars forget that the whole world is not focused on Stratford, that many people claim not to like Shakespeare, and that even regular theatre goers in other cities may not see Stratford as the centre of Canadian culture.
Anyway, my friends liked the show, the audience liked the show, I liked the show, but just as a piece of fluff for a Saturday afternoon.
I did think that the scene in which Julian gives his inspirational speech to Peggy was hilarious and could be used to great effect in management courses, demonstrating how not to motivate your team.

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Stratford 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

