My Fair Lady

OK, I have to admit my bias – I think this is the best musical ever written! when I was in high school I used to study with this playing in a continuous loop in the background. Probably explains why I know all the lyrics but can’t remember any physics or chemistry.

In any case, the Shaw production met all my expectations. Deborah Hay was a loverly Eliza. Benedict Campbell was superb as Henry Higgins. Neil Barclay was born to play the part of Alfred Doolittle and Patrick Galligan was an excellent Pickering -even though he looks too young.

Great staging and scenery, wonderful costumes. You had to walk out singing!

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Benedict Campbell, Deborah Hay, Neil Barclay, Patrick Galligan, Shaw 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Fair Lady

  1. Keith says:

    I mostly go to the Shaw Festival for Shaw, and I generally skip musicals anywhere, but especially at Shaw, where they haven't seemed to "get it".However, our first weekend at NotL this year was a bit of a surprise, the Shaw plays were rather weak and the others were much better than I expected.My Fair Lady was excellent. I am sure you could argue for some Rogers & Hammerstein for the best musical title, and for Cabaret, but My Fair Lady is certainly right up there.In this production, as Cathy said, the cast was excellent and the set design simple but attractive – if a little obsessed with CGI birds. They should have had the MacDonald & Munro team do Heartbreak House.All in all a delightful show, I came out smiling and humming.

Leave a Reply

