Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

Over the top fun. this production included eveything but the kitchen sink – although the fridge and stove made it on stage! I particularly liked the McArthur Park scene – psychedelic to the max!
The basic story line works better in the movie, but this is certainly a spectacular evening of theatre. The audience loved it and gave a long and loud standing ovation, although I would not have.
Cast members were great dancers but some could use a little work on the singing. That may be a reflection of where we were sitting – under the balcony – so the sound seemed a little mushy.
The only cast member I recognised was C. David Johnson, in the role of Bob. I liked Will Swenson as Tick, Nick Adams as Felicia and Tony Sheldon as Bernadette.

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in C. David Johnson, Nick Adams, Princess of Wales, Tony Sheldon, Will Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

  1. Keith says:

    I think a work of such subtlety would work better in a more intimate setting.Naw, I'm just messing with you. Subtle it ain't. The Princess Alexandra with a nicely liquored-up audience was just about right.I'm not really musical fan and to me this seemed like a Panto – with just a little more obscenity than normal. I found the first half rather one-note and boring, but the production (or I) perked up after the intermission.Talking about the production, despite a glitch right at the end, I thought the staging was excellent.I believe Mirvish & Co. have a very saleable property here. I think it should do well on Broadway and then tour for years. (It would also make money in the West End, I am sure.)

Leave a Reply

