Death of a Salesman

I have studied this play, but had never seen it performed, so I was curious to see it. I should probably have read it again before going, as I clearly had very little memory of the play at all.
The first scenes are difficult, as the characters are not particularly likeable, but as the story progresses, my interest increased. This is not just the story of Willie Loman, but the story of America, striving to succeed and desperate to be liked. As the story unfolded, I found myself cringing (when Howard fires Willy because he is too old, ignoring decades of loyal service) and sympathising with Willy as he comtemplates his life without a job. It reminded me of my father when he was in a similar situation. The characters are archtypes of America, even today. Willy Loman is all Americans who firmly believe that they too can succeed and get rich, if only things go right.
Great cast with Joseph Zeigler as Willy and Nancy Palk as Linda. Michael Hanrahn and William Webster as Charley and Uncle Ben were also strong. The rest were adequate but not memorable.
The audience gave the performance a standing ovation. I came close, but not quite, probably becuase the play is not as stirring as I need for the full ovation package.

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Arthur Miller, Joseph Zeigler, Nancy Palk, Soulpepper 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Death of a Salesman

  1. Keith says:

    I confess that I have been somewhat negative about productions where Albert Schultz directed. However, I cannot complain about this outing.The production was well paced, the cast great and the stage design functional and effective.I have trouble empathizing with salespeople, I just don't understand the Willys and Happys of the world; I think the willing suspension of disbelief should be limited to the theatre and cinema – not slid into real life.I also have a horrible feeling I have fired Willy. More than once.Certainly not the most comfortable play I have ever been to, but I was definitely drawn into it. Very good.

Leave a Reply

