The Black Rider

This one was certainly not our usual style, but I liked it. Visually stunning and almost like a ballet in the way the actors moved. I can’t say I will ever like the music, which I found jarring and loud.
The actors were excellent, but as we knew none of them, it was harder to connect with the performance.
I wonder if that is one of the dangers / side effects of seeing so much rep ? you get to know the actors and it is rather like watching your friends.

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Tarragon 2008 Tom Waits, William S burroughs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Black Rider

  1. Keith says:

    I don’t know Burroughs’ work and, based on this, I won’t be rushing out to look for him at the bookstore. I didn’t like it. I thought it was generally clunky in language and presentation (although there were some neat effects, and I liked Peg Leg).I also expected more of the Tom Waits music and lyrics – although he’s not a favorite.

Leave a Reply

