Caesar and Cleopatra

Everyone else loved this production, but I managed to sleep through part of the first act. It was a great spectacle, but I have become accustomed to the importance of the words in a Shaw play, and I think the words were subordinate to the look.
Having said that, the cast were excellent and so was the set. Some of the actors need to work on projecting to all parts of the Festival theatre – again the words are key.
I liked Christopher Plummer, but I don’t think he was any better than Jim Mezon was at Shaw a couple of years ago.

About cathyriggall

Theatre junkie, who thinks live theatre is the ultimate form of living on the edge. You never know what will happen when an actor steps on the stage.
This entry was posted in Shaw, Stratford 2008. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caesar and Cleopatra

  1. Keith says:

    This was actually a good production, despite what I say later; mostly I’m just reacting to the (unwarranted) raves from the audience and reviewers. If this production had been at Shaw, it would have been seen as a typically competent effort. I agree that I enjoyed the Mezon production as much or more.I have grumbled this year about directors not “getting” the Festival theatre. However, this time, the thrust stage was used for some effective spectacle. However, the actors fared less well and seemed to have trouble projecting consistently. They should have taken lessons from Peter Donaldson, who had no such problem and was an excellent Rufio! Mind you, when hasn’t he been excellent?Diane D’Aquila hammed it up as Ftateeta. I know it’s that kind of role, but I thought that the scenery-chewing was a bit much. She’s a better actress than this and it is a pity this role is all she’s had this year.Nikki James did another, but very different, effective portrayal of a teenager growing up under the pressure of events. It will be interesting to see how she handles other kinds of roles.

Leave a Reply

